Why Are New Windows Phone Mango Handsets So Average?

Mango and its cross section
Image via Wikipedia

Mobile phone makers have started to launch handsets running Microsoft’s updated Windows Phone 7 OS, known as Mango.  Last week HTC announced the launch of two new handsets, the first due to be released in Europe, as reported here by Coolsmartphone.

First impressions?  Very average.  Aside from the large screen on the Titan, the specs are not a whole lot better than my current phone, the 18-month-old HTC Desire.  These phones certainly fall short of the specs we see on the current top specced phones on the market, such as the HTC Sensation and the Samsung Galaxy S II.  When you look at the (rumoured) specs of forthcoming Android phones and the iPhone 5, the specs of these Windows Phones look even more average.

For me, the single biggest shortcoming is the amount of memory on the HTC Radar.  Like many people I use my smartphone as my portable music player.  I don’t consider my music collection to be particularly large and I don’t use very high bit rates when ripping music, but I still have around 10 gigabytes of music.  As well as my 10GB of music I need memory capacity for photos, video and apps. But the HTC Radar has just 8GB of memory, well short of my requirements.

I’ve mentioned before that I intend to upgrade to a Windows Phone in the near future, so I am disappointed with these lacklustre efforts from HTC.  It seems also that HTC’s own PR department is struggling to get enthusiatic about these phones, with TNW describing their promotional videos as sleep-inducing.

I sincerely hope that Windows Phone Mango handsets expected to be released by Samsung and Nokia in the coming months offer something a little more exciting, and I certainly hope that they address the memory issue.

