Ethical T-shirts

T-shirt without side-seam
Image via Wikipedia

I am in the market for a couple of t-shirts to replace some of mine that are wearing out.  So, how should I take account of my smart sustainable goals?  The main concern is to avoid anything that may have been made in a sweatshop.  Other than that, no significant issues come to mind when it comes to t-shirts.

But I do have one more idea.  Many t-shirts I own and have owned have featured logos of various clothing companies, the likes of Billabong or Quiksilver for example, so why not give my chest advertising space to a better cause?  Until recently FC Barcelona did it – they had UNICEF emblazoned across their shirts from 2006 until the end of the last football season.  Well I will do the same.  I will buy some t-shirts from a charity, and do some awareness raising on their behalf as well as putting some good money in their direction.

Amnesty International
Image via Wikipedia

Save the Children are my preferred charity and I’ve been a supporter of theirs for some time now, but unfortunately their t-shirt range is rather limited and not really to my taste.  So I took a look at the websites of WWF and Amnesty International, two other charities I admire and support.  WWF’s shop has a large range of t-shirts, including certified Fair Trade and organic items.  They also have t-shirts certified to a scheme called Green Tick, which I hadn’t heard of before but which looks to be quite sound.  However despite the range I can’t really find anything I like there.  Amnesty’s shop has a number of Fair Trade and organic t-shirts on offer.  These are more my style, so I think I’ll probably get one or two from there.

